top of page

Our First Time

It was my first time photographing a wedding. In preparing for this I had read several books on wedding and several books on photographing on my Kindle. Alright, it was my first time attending a wedding PERIOD. But I was emboldened to learn as much as possible in a month to get the images I, and ultimately the Bride and Groom, needed. I was eager to make my dream of photographing wedding and engagement into a career. Internally I was nervous due to first-time jitters but externally I wanted to project myself as a calm individual holding several camera bags in sunny, no trade-winds weather.


I was ecstatic that my first gig was to photograph my friends, Brent and Tammy's, monumental event held at the Hawaii United Okinawa Association (HUOA). Leading up to the event I had played several casual volleyball games with them and their friends, in which their friends naturally became their bridesmaid and groomsmen. I had grown comfortable to everyone's personality and inside jokes that I as the photographer became less timid in collaborating. With a month of preparation and discussion with everyone we had settled on the best plan to capture their character in creating the narrative they wanted, in the allotted time the HUOA could give us. So much so that everyone had submitted the type of images they wanted to convey from several public Pinterest wedding photos -- ones that captured quirky and lightheartedness.


My nervousness dissipated into the ether as the ceremony and reception continued. My ambition grew to narrate someone's wedding day as a career...


Bridesmaid and groomsmen shocked at the Bride and Groom's first kiss as a married couple


69 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page