top of page

Justin and Tiffany - Hawaiian Sunrise

There were so many thoughts that raced through my head as soon as we conversed on the perfect sunrise shoot (e.g. time to meet, location of the shoot, epic poses). My experience in volunteering and planning events for non-profit organizations have culminated in this exact moment and limited time. We had met within 24 hours prior to the scheduled sunrise.


Being from the mainland, I wanted to give the couple an epic, cinematic photosession that I had envisioned in my mind and being that they're new to Hawaii I wanted to surprise them how wonderful the sunrise has been lately in Hawaii. I wanted to share the experience of witnessing the sunrise and also have some awesome photos they can then share with their families and friends in the mainland of their time in Hawaii (and hopefully spread the news about me).


With little time to spare, I immediately notified them when and where to meet and the ideal clothes to wear. On my end I charged my necessary camera batteries and lighting equipment. In addition I multi-tasked in preparing a checklist in what to bring for the session because honestly I am scattered brain. I've learned through volunteering that preparing a inventory checklist prior to photosession or event is essential otherwise I cannot do my job properly or I would be sweating bullets in front of people I want to impress.


Around 4AM I quietly exited out of my house in respect to my neighbors soundly sleeping in their lukewarm beds. I lugged my camera equipment along with my 32 inch softbox and light stand to my car (parked a block away) in the dimly-lit streets hoping no one mobs me. Times like these I wish I had an assistant to carry my equipment.

Needless to say I'm proud of the photos and how it turned out. The couple were also blown away by the colors of the sky and greatly appreciated how it looked. In all my previous years in planning events for non-profit organizations and studying the logistical side of running an event I'm glad I was able to employ these skills essential to my clients.


Do you enjoy the photos? Comment on the bottom about what you like about the photos below.


25 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page